~ Diary ~ >> Rushita.com

Before going to the con...

Just a brief update. This is the beginning of a 1 week vacation. Plaid Wolf arrived in one piece, instead of pieces of plaid. <-----he said so himself.


So, I'm getting ready for the con. I was up packing and stuff real late (or real early this morning), and I wasn't supposed to wake up this early. However, I suddenly remember I forgot to pack autograph material. I don't know how I would forget...... I gotta let Midorikawa-san to sign them!! And then I remembered I had to look up something about photography.... and then the stupid spider wandering leisurely on the wall right next to me. So its fate was trapped in an alcohol fume filled "second cup" plastic cup and flushed into toilet. My mom said, "That's how you use that cup? (translation: So that is the purpose of saving that cup)". I said, "Yup, that's exactly how I use it. (translation: That is exactly the purpose of the cup [which has always been sitting on my book shelf].)".


Anyhow, I have to pack some more. I'll be away from home and internet for a few days. I'll be at Anime North. Yay!! Err...wait till I get there. Driving on highway 401/407+427+409 is never an exciting thing for me. e.e;; But...my car need the exercise. It is lack of highway driving and lack of mileage.


So....I'm off now! ^^


P.S. Someday I'll write up a list of 101 uses of alcohol ^o^


===============================================

Ontario's SAR data (as of May15):

29 active cases (10 probable hospitalized, 19 suspected at home), 205 discharged.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - May 16, 2003 - 9:47 a.m. [ Comments ]


Anime North 2003 Counting Down!

Acks! I was supposed to do a review today, but I worked on preparing for the con instead. Time is running fast and there is only 1 week till Anime North. I still have something to finish off before the con. I collected all the anime song lyrics I needed, copied and pasted some Japanese lyrics on Words and added the kana reading on top of some kanji. It actually worked on Words. Japanese text are printed out so nicely ^^. Umm...yeah, I prefer lyrics in kana than in romji. It is easier to read kana instead of converting the English alphabets in groups of single tones on top of my head as I read them. The only problem is pronouncing kanji, so puting kana hints on top of kanji would help. Now my Scarlet lyrics is nice and big easy to read. ^^

I re-burn my anime karaoke CD too, since there is a "bump" in one of the songs. So I recorded the track from the original CD and re-burned the whole CD. I'm having more and more CD-R coasters ^^;; Nero is cool, I can even make CD cover from it.

*Crosses fingers* Xq finally figured out how to colour print my picture. It is a self-promotion material for the dagger model that is supposed to go on a little cardboard stand and stand next to the model. The dagger itself needs a little bit touch up on the gold paint..... and I still have to figure out how to display it. It is sitting on my English-Chinese bible, and believe it or not, it looks good that way e.e;; I'll just have to make something that has the similar effect of the black cover bible...

Mmm..I got rechargable batteries for my digital camera...right now charging. These new ones should have a lot more capacity then my old ones, and it shouldn't die during the 3-hour long masquerade like last year XD. I should go print more Rushita.com "business card"....

Thanks for reading this random blog. The past week has been very regular and boring. e.e;; Goodnight.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - May 07, 2003 - 11:40 p.m. [ Comments ]


Model Finished

My model is finished ^^ Here is the piccy:

Full view

Close up for the handle

Make a guess what I used for the red gem orbs ^^.


Umm....what else did I do? Not much lately. ^^ I hate having to work weekend. I went out to help boost the economy of Toronto Chinese merchans. In short, I went to Pacific Mall for a little shopping spee. I've got the DVD for "The Phant Lover". "The Phant Lover" is one of the many English title translation. I forgot the other name I saw, but in Chinese it literally means "the midnight singing voice". I like to call it the Chinese movie version of "The Phantom of the Opera" ^^;;. Since the death of Leslie Cheung, his movies and CDs are selling well. Every audio/video store has a little section of Leslie Cheung's movies and CDs. I wasn't buying it because of his death. A month ago, one night I suddenly remember this movie and the songs. This is actually one of my favourite movies and I always love the songs. So I pull out my old cassette tape and listened to the songs over and over again. Then I decided I should go get the movie in DVD and buy the CD...... Just right after that, Leslie Cheung died. O.o;; What a coincident.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - April 29, 2003 - 1:09 a.m. [ Comments ]


Dispelling the Myths About SARS

Keywords: SARS, Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome, Toronto, travel advisory, WHO, Health Canada, public health

Myth 1: Toronto is not a safe place to visit
All of the cases that have occurred in Toronto have been linked to the initial travel-related case. There have been no cases of community transmission that have not been connected to initial cases. In other words, people in the community are not contracting SARS through their day to day activities. The majority of activity has occurred with hospital healthcare workers, family members and very close contacts of SARS patients. It is not recommended that people in the community wear masks due to their very low risk of contracting SARS.

Myth 2: SARS kills most people who are infected.
To date, the fatality rate of SARS cases in Canada is estimated at approximately 4.3% of probable or suspect cases. Most cases that have resulted in death have occurred in people who are over 70 years of age, with concomitant medical conditions. Many of the people who have been diagnosed with probable SARS have recovered fully.

Myth 3: SARS is easily transmitted in the community.
The risk of transmission in the community is very low. Transmission is still believed to be through droplets from coughing or sneezing. There is some evidence to show that the virus can remain on objects for some time period, but this has not been confirmed. Also, there is very little evidence of airborne transmission. From transmission patterns in Canada, it is quite clear how affected individuals became infected. The best line of defence against SARS for anyone in the community is to wash their hands frequently with soap and water. As an additional precaution, regular cleaning of common work surfaces (e.g., countertops, door knobs, telephones, etc.) is recommended.

Myth 4: People in affected areas, such as Toronto, are carriers of the SARS virus.
People who have come into contact with someone with suspect or probable SARS may be at risk of contracting this virus. As discussed, transmission is known to occur via droplet so close contact for prolonged periods of time (e.g., living with, caring for the infected individual) is required. Public health has recommended quarantine for individuals believed to be at risk based on potential exposure as a precaution. The risk of contracting SARS, to the general public, remains very low.

For more information about SARS, log onto www.SARS.gc.ca or call the Health Canada SARS hotline at 1-800-454-8302.


The above is a direct quote from Shoppers Drug Mart/Pharmaprix SARS Update. All credits go to Shoppers Drug Mart/Pharmaprix, Health Canada, public heath and all health care professional who are involved in preparing the facts and statistics about SARS in Canada, and who work unselfishly to help fight against SARS.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - April 26, 2003 - 11:07 p.m. [ Comments ]


More Stolen Survey ^^;;

I swear Diana's site has been cursed e.e;; it would be down whenever Hostrocket says they are doing any maintainence, and it would still be down when Hostrocket didn't say they are working on anything @_@;; So...at the mean time, I follow xq-sama's suggestion: Time to steal another super long survey from Rose's Deadjournal. I really don't know what all of us can do for Rose to pay for stealing all her surveys ^^;;

Time Starting dis: 6:07 pm
Date: April 25, 2003
Birthday: January 17
School/University: Graduated from University of Toronto
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada....and it is VERY SAFE here, thankyouverymuch.
E-mail: [email protected]

Colour of eyes: dark brown
Hair: Very very dark brown - not black
Height: 5"5' + 2 inches high heel - which actually made me looked like I was taller than Ocha ^^;;
Shoe size: 8

-------------------- HAVE YOU EVER ... -------------------

Put a body part on fire for amusement: No, I love myself
Kept a secret from everyone?: Yes
Had an imaginary friend: Nope.
Wanted to "hook up" with a friend: Yes, if I interpreted "hook up" right...
Cried during a movie: Yes, rarely though
Had a crush on a teacher: No. My teachers were not attractive
Ever thought an animated character was hot?: Too many hot bishounen to name ^^;;
Had a "New Kids on The Block" tape?: No.
Been on stage?: Yes, I used to do Chinese dance and I used to perform.
Cut your hair?: Yes, not the whole thing, just the bang.
Been sarcastic?: Yes. Sarcastic is good in some situations

------------------- FAVORITES -----------------------

Shampoo: Only use one, Salon Selectives.
Colour: On what? In general, white, silver, pastel colours
Day/Night: Day for things I need to do outside my house, and night for things I do at home.
Summer/Winter: Most Canadian will answer you "Summer". I like sunny and hot weather. I like summer clothes.
Smile/Frown: Smile of course
Lace/Satin: Depends on the style.
Fave cartoon character: Um...Princess Odette the swan princess?? Don't like too many cartoons
Fave Junk Food: All kind of chips and chips-like junk food.
Fave Movie: Gosh...Adolescence Mokushiroku the Utena movie, or Laputa: Castle in the Sky.
Fave Ice Cream: Vanilla with chocolate chips.
Fave Subject: Never liked school. Maybe needle-work/dress-making.
Fave drink: Clamato, Mountain Dew, iced tea, lichee green tea...
Fave person to talk to online: Xqmrp, Channy, Purple.... just like my previous diary entry, I really need to talk to people more o.o;;

--------------- RIGHT NOW --------------------

Wearing: Lack of vocabulary to describe clothes in English. Purple turtle neck sweater and black dress pants.
I'm feeling?: Fine.
Eating: Nothing. Just had rice crackers.
Drinking: nothing
Thinking about: How to answer this survey
Listening to: The noise my keyboard makes when I type.

----------------- IN THE LAST 24 HOURS --------------------

Cried: no
Worn a skirt: No, haven't pull out my skirts yet. The weather here is like winter for one day and summer for the other. I'll wait a little longer although I'm getting sick of wearing pants.
Met someone new: no
Cleaned your room: Nope. It only get done once or twice a year. My mom does the regular cleaning.
Done laundry: Have not done laundry myself since the last time I was home alone, like, last October.
Drove a car: Of course. I have to work!

--------------- DO YOU BELIEVE IN -----------------------

Yourself: Yes.
Tooth fairy: It is not in my culture
Destiny/Fate: Yes, but in terms of God's planning.
Guardian angels?: Yes, but I don't pay attention to it. Look up to God, not angels.
Ghosts: Define "ghosts". I believe there are evil spirits and there are soul for dead people. But I don't believe "ghosts" the way TV and movies portrait.
UFO's?: Not they way people think. I believe there are things that only God knows and we don't know.

------------------ FRIEND AND LIFE ---------------------

Like anyone?: Yeah.
Who have you known the longest?: Purple, my cousin. Who else would know me since we are born?
Who is your best guy friend(s)?: xq-sama, no other type of "best" guy friend.
Who is your best girl friend(s): Purple.
Who's the loudest: *refuses to write about other people whom we might or might not know online*
Who's the shyest?: ditto
Who's the weirdest?: ditto
Who do you cry to?: God
When did you cry the most?: 4th year pharmacy
Worst feeling?: *not interested to think about it*

Who will respond to this email the fastest?: It was from an e-mail?
Who did you send this to who won't respond?: Well...it won't work for diary
Who sent this to you?: Stole from Rose's deadjournal
Do you want all your friends to do this and send it back to you: They can do this if they want, but please don't send it to me. I'll read them on their blog.

Time ended?: 6:46pm

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - April 25, 2003 - 6:03 p.m. [ Comments ]


previous - next

My Heart

Newest Entry
Archive

My Stats
Contact me
Sign Guestbook

Talk Box

Back

My Friends

BunniFuFu
Between Stars And Shadow
.::Virtual:Reality::.
Koganei Kaoru
Mimichan's Journal

Rushita's Diary � 2005 Rushita.com. Service is kindly provided by Diaryland.