~ Diary ~ >> Rushita.com

More Good News - Praise the Lord

Yes, xq is finally here! I haven't seen him since Anime North! @_@;; I'm really glad he finally made it. *gives nasty look to his job* Sorry for excessive ranting to everyone about how upset I was to the situation ^^;; I got him to change my light blub for me, so now I have light in my computer room. For some odd reason, I have a strange fear of changing light blub for this light >.> Now one thing is done. We are not going to run a tight schedule or try to accomplish a million tasks in 5 days. We'll just relax enjoy each other's company. I think these are the 2 things we both need most.

I was working on redoing some html for The Mouse Corner. I have 2 mirrored sites for The Mouse Corner, one at indiko.com (where Rushita's Homepage used to be hosted at before I got my domain) and one at the domain. I tried to eliminate all the e-mail links to reduce the amount of junk mails I'm getting. Speaking of junk mail, I swear they really know what I don't need and send them all to me just to annoy me. I always get those "online pharmacy", "cheap prescription drugs", "enlarge male sexual organ", "reduce your debt", "lower your mortgage", "weight loss". None of these I need, fortunately, because either I don't have, or I don't have that problem. Interesting how xq always get those "enlarge breast size" spams, which I never get (not that I need or want it...). They really know how to target audience. Too bad I can't set a filter to filter the word "pharmacy" or "prescription", since it will also filter out my serious, real work related e-mails or those who ask me for professional advices. This is what you have to put up with when you work in that field. So I tried to log in my file manager at Indiko.com. To my surprise, they actually upgraded the site!!

Well, the history was... I left Geocities and got 30mb site at indiko.com about 5 years ago. I came across a free-hosted anime site that loads at good speed without any ads and I traced it back to the root of the host. It was indiko.com. So I signed up for a 30mb account. Shortly after I signed up, they would no longer accept members. They said they were doing upgrade to the site. Well.... that upgrade went on for 5 years and nothing has ever happened. During those 5 years, I could still upload my site and everything, but I could see that it was falling apart. They added ad banners on the file manager pages, and later the banners were broken. The wwwboard it provided on the account was having millenium bug problem and was never fixed. Things were falling apart and I thought they abandoned the site. At the mean time I got Rushita.com and moved my site, but I still keep the good 30mb space since it is practically still a good server that also allows direct-link. So I created The Mouse Corner mainly to take up the good space. When I tried to log on yesterday, they actually upgraded the site!! That was a really long wait and I'm glad I still keep the account. I wonder how many sites are still active there. So I checked in for an upgrade and now I got the new control panel and subdomain site with ftp upload, cgi and other cool stuff! It looks like they actually have paid hosting service on there too. If it is staying alive and updated, that is actually a good free-hosting. I think they won't be taking new members, but just providing service to those who signed up 5 years ago...

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - November 17, 2003 - 12:51 a.m. [ Comments ]


Good News

Yay!! I'm on vacation for 1 week now, and xq is coming over for a few days, finally! ^^. Well, now I can finally say I'm on vacation after just finishing work stuff at home @_@;; I shouldn't be up so early on my dayoff. The only reason why I'm up is because when I woke up, I remembered I forgot to do something at work yesterday, so I couldn't get back to sleep @_@;; It was regarding a drug information question, so I called up drug information centre and got some faxes and then worked at home to sort it out and handed over the info to the staff at work e.e. The day that I'm off when I woke up early in the morning, I always remember what happened the previous day and what I forgot to do. Everything surface up the next morning X.x;; Anyhow, that's done.

Wee!! I got new toy! No, not Gameboy Advance SP yet. That gotta wait till they have it on sale for Christmas.... My Corel Draw 10 upgrade has arrived from mail ^^. I spent hours installing and uninstalling old ones and configuring it that I basically crashed in front of my computer and didn't get to blog how exciting this is ^^;;. I finally got Corel Draw 10. I've been waiting to get it for 2 years and waiting for the price to come down. I'm now 1 version behind instead of 3 :p It is the upgrade version. I figured since I have previous versions, I really can save myself money by buying the upgrade version. For a moment I was worried last night, because there was something wrong with installing the upgrade. I thought my Corel Draw 8 OEM version might crew me over since it is not the retail full version. Luckily that wasn't the problem. I just had to install the whole CD8 (instead of part of the programs) before installing the upgrade. ^^ This is cool. I even got the manuals and the 3 complete CDs. I haven't actually got the full full retail package with everything since Corel Draw 3 ^^;; Oh btw, that cost me about $120 CAD (plus the evil Canadian custom tax). I bought it from e-bay. I think I've mentioned before, when it was new 1 year ago, the full retail version was sold for $500 USD. Now I have to go experiment how to do "circular text" with the new program which was not an available function on my old one..... I dozed off doing that last night ^^;;

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - November 14, 2003 - 10:15 a.m. [ Comments ]


Pharmacy and Pharmacy Assistant

Let's see..... I'll talk about work tonight. Hey, that's rare. Actually, it has been so busy at work lately that I feel like I have accomplished a lot to talk about. We've been having network communication problems the past 3 days, so it slowed down our prescription ajudication and debit/credit card. In fact, it feels like everything is so slow, so that really slowed down our work and backed up tons of things to do. Sometimes you wonder what those people up there is doing. It took them 3 days to finally realize there is a problem (while all the stores had suffered for 3 days) and finally put us into a backup system. Those people up there and those people who designed the new pharmacy system should work in the store someday � �. Then again, it is always the Murphy's Law when they do come to visit. Whenever people come to observe, there is never customers. It would be so quiet that they think we do nothing. They never come when we are busy, like Thursday and today. The customers must know when they come, I swear e.e;; And then there would be days that everybody would come at the same time, and then they always need to fill more prescriptions the few weeks before Christmas. I seriously have no clue what Christmas has to do with filling prescriptions. I know people do Christmas shopping in December, but why would everybody need to buy more prescription medicine before Christmas? This is a mystery that will never be solved. It's just like that and we are coming to the prescription peak season. That also means, nobody is allow to take a vacation during December. My boss was joking the other day that nobody is allowed to get sick until January.

Today (Saturday), we have a presciption count of a normal weekday Thursday, which has a 2.0 assistant rate, with only a 1.5 assistant support. I did have 2 assistants but they were not working the same shift, plus the fact that they are weekend staff with weekend productivity. One of the 2 actually is a good one with weekday productivity, but the other one....umm... let's say she is the weakest link. So I had to pull my good assistant out of her new system training to help clean up the piles. She is good. She was a bit slow in learning when she first started so I was grumbling (always hate training new staffs), but she has became very good and fast and smart. She is like totally understands how to do things the exact way and best is, she knows how I do things :D When you get assistants that can pick up and finish your work and can think in the same step as you or even one step ahead of you, that is excellent. She saved me from a lot of mixtures too ^_____^. You've got some assistants who doesn't want to do mixture, and some won't learn to do mixture, and then some who actually likes to do them. I don't mind doing mixtures, it is like cooking (I hate cooking though o.o;;), but the only problem is, when everybody wants to speak to the pharmacist, you simply don't have time to do that....and a million other things at the same time while having deadlines to meet. Pharmacy is a different type of job. We don't have projects that due in 3 months. We have deadline every 5 minutes. That's why we need assistants that can work fast. Assistants are like your left and right hands. I don't have "left hand" and "right hand" at the same time though. I only have "right hand" on weekdays and "left hand" on weekends" . Heh. I lost my right hand in September to a boring hospital job. This good assistant is my left hand. And.....we are losing another assistant to the well-benefit government job. This time I'm not too worried because somehow my boss always find somebody and this is only a part-time position. Sometimes I feel like to kidnap Channy to come to work with me. Sometimes I even feel like to kidnap Diana to work as if she would live in Canada for some odd reason. Diana might not like the job, but somehow I think she can actually be very good at it. If other assistants in this and other pharmacies can do the job, there is no way Channy and Diana can't XD. I just want those fast and smart assistants. The other time I was covering a shift at another store, I got to work with the 2nd worst assistant that I have ever worked with (that is, after the Egyptian assistant from years ago). My girl friend was also helping out at that store and when we met in switching shifts, we both ranted to each other how bad the assistant was. She was slow, dumb, and lazy. I know the boss of the store quite well, so I couldn't help but told him how hopeless the assistant was. That was just within 3 hours of working with her. That kind of assistant is not "assistant" because they don't help the pharmacist at all. It is like every time I call that store to ask for a product, it took her like 2 minutes to hear what I was asking and then still has to pass the phone to the pharmacist to answer my question (that is another 3 minutes wait). For heaven's sake you don't need a pharmacist to answer if you have a drug in the store. Can't you just go to your cupboard and check if you have that in stock? @_@;; Is it that hard to understand? It is funny that it is quite often when I call another store to ask for a simple product (and describe the name and everything), the assistant still need to pass the phone to the pharmacist (meaning they don't know the product). These people don't even know what they have in their pharmacies, I swear. My girlfriend actual says the assistants in my store are the most competent. I tend to agree that. It is probably due to the general work enviroment norm. If you have everybody working meticulously and fast, the newcomer will automatically learn to do it the same way. Those who failed to learn in an appropriate amount of time will be fired.

*Sighs* tomorrow is another day of work. I hope it will be quiet tomorrow so I can catch up some paper work and poke through the new system more.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - November 08, 2003 - 10:35 p.m. [ Comments ]


Quizzes

Stole from Goddess. I should read her blog more often ^o^. One of these days I should include her blog on the list.

My inner child is ten years old today

My inner child is ten years old!

The adult world is pretty irrelevant to me. Whether
I'm off on my bicycle (or pony) exploring, lost
in a good book, or giggling with my best
friend, I live in a world apart, one full of
adventure and wonder and other stuff adults
don't understand.

How Old is Your Inner Child?
brought to you by Quizilla

Riyo
Riyo - "Logical Change" People of your personality type should visit: www.life-blood.cjb.net

What would your Japanese name be? (female)
brought to you by Quizilla

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - November 03, 2003 - 6:05 p.m. [ Comments ]


What to do, what to do?

It's been quiet lately. LAR WP submission hasn't opened yet (that should be fixed, btw.....) and I'm done with my Christmas layout. So, I'm pretty much free the past 2 weeks. I got to catch up my sleep and catch up watching anime since I have nothing to do O.o;;

The christmas layout is done, finally found the simple javascript to do the mouseover thingy. I don't know why the simple script is so hard to find. I've used the more complicated one last year but I really don't want the rollover effect. I just want the simple image change over. I didn't know it was the fancy rollover script until I had it all installed and uploaded and tested on IE, because that effect didn't show up on Netscape o.o;;. I don't really like the christmas layout. It is not as good as last year's. I'm kinda stuck not able to make it look any more better. It is hard to find the right image to do christmas layout. As a matter of fact, it is hard to find the right image to do any layout unless you use original anime images. That's because images are not royality-free. I can get away with anime pictures, but if I have to use other images, I'll have to face copyright issues. I can't really steal image or just scan something pretty that has a copyright @_@;; It sucks when you can't draw ;_;. It is like a cursing to me every time I have to make a layout. I have the exact idea or style but to find and convert an existing copyright cleared image to express my idea is very very hard. Someday somebody need to invent a computer device that people can wear on their head and display the exact image the person sees in his mind.

I've finally watched Digi Charat. It is very weird O.o;; I'm not even sure if it has a storyline. The series is made up of short episodes that individual episodes are not really related to each other. I have 2 DVD's that are supposed to cover all the episodes and the special seiyuu concert and interviews. But it doesn't feel like I have the ending of the series, 'cause as I said, it doesn't really have a storyline and you can pretty much end anywhere. The characters are also very weird..... people does strange and chaotic things @_@;; I'll just let xq take my DVD's instead of making him a tape copy. He can do the copying himself. This is definitely not my favourite type of anime. Love Hina should be the next one to watch...

I was organizing my files on the harddrive and I found a work copy of the "wing" image still hanging around and I realized that I could make a wallpaper out of it. It is the original image of my Angel Wings layout. Actually, it is not the original original image. It is the product of hand editing the original image and doing major restoration to the original image to complete what is missing because of the edge of the original picture. In another words, I have hand-drawn and pixel-drawn the ends of her hair and extented the width of the picture. And then I used this full image to make the layout. So this is the perfect image and perfect for making a wallpaper. Here is the wallpaper I did last night (This is a preview, the real bmp ones can be downloaded from the Wallpaper section. See the navigation menu on the left). This is the first time I make a wallpaper before watching the series. Usually I have the compassion to make a wallpaper after I watch an anime that I like a lot. I have never watched X (someday I should), so I have no clue what it is about. I had to do some research on this character in order to know about her and know what to write on it. I like to put some simple sentences on wallpapers that have special meanings to the characters on the wallpapers. They are usually from lyrics of songs that are related to the characters or quotes of what the characters said in the series. Too bad Kotori (the winged girl on this wallpaper) is a minor character and they don't have an image song for her. So I've spent hours searching for other anime songs that might fit her. I didn't find one. The closest one I found is an English song translation of "Release My Heart" from Card Captorsakura. So I took the format and some words of the song and rewrite a short "poem" or "song" for her instead on the wallpaper. It is a lot of work when you haven't watched the anime. Usually ideas and words will flow automatically after watching the anime. Angel Wings has now become one of my most favourite layouts for Rushita.com and I like that picture so much. It is a waste of the picture and a waste of my pixel work if I don't make a wallpaper out of it.

I bought the new Slim Fast instant soup that is sold in my store. Well, I wasn't buying it to lose weight although that was the purpose of the product. I just bought it because I love soup so much and I want to buy instant soup O.o;; The picture on the box looks very yummy. It is really not cheap though. I tried one vegetable soup today. It tastes very good ^^. And yeah, to my surprise, it actually fills the stomach. I can see why you can use it to replace your breakfast or lunch. Next time I'll try the tomato soup ^^.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - November 03, 2003 - 4:32 p.m. [ Comments ]


previous - next

My Heart

Newest Entry
Archive

My Stats
Contact me
Sign Guestbook

Talk Box

Back

My Friends

BunniFuFu
Between Stars And Shadow
.::Virtual:Reality::.
Koganei Kaoru
Mimichan's Journal

Rushita's Diary � 2005 Rushita.com. Service is kindly provided by Diaryland.