~ Diary ~ >> Rushita.com

Power Outage and Everything Else

Time for my report about the power outage � �. So...as we all know, it started on Thurs around 4:15pm. I was of course working. The lights flickered and then went out. I slowly walked back to pharmacy counter, no panic, no fear. Continue to check my prescriptions under emergency light, clean up the table, while seeing everybody walks out of the store. It was very peaceful. It was not scary at all walking to the back and front of the store under dim light. I guess I'm too familar with the store by now, just like my home, and I can probably walk in the dark e.e;; I continued to finish things off while everybody else (the staff) gathered at the front of the store (where the sunlight comes in to the store), and talking about what it is about. I was faxing a transfer, so I pull out my cellphone in attempt to call the other store to see if they've got the fax, if not, I can do it by phone, since I have all the info in front of me on the paper. So I went to the front to get a signal. Strangely everybody in the store who has cellphone is doing the same thing, but nobody can get a line. Before long, we know it was a city wide thing. With staff trying to come in to start their shifts and talking to other people, we realized it was much bigger than we thought. And then not very long, the mall had to close down, so we all got to go home. Yay for me, I really don't mind going home ^^;;.

I'll skip the part of how bad the traffic is and what no traffic light is about. So I got home and listened to the radio for update. Everything our family prepared for the year 2000 bug finally came in handly. My mom cooked supper with the gas stove on the deck. After supper, it was starting to get dark and we just all sitting down on the couch and listen to the radio. I decided to go to bed at 8:45pm, since I don't want to do anything and I was lack of sleep anyway. My parents slept in the basement (much cooler there), but I insisted bedroom isn't too hot. I'm not too fussy about the heat. I was pretty hot actually, but not unbearable. The night wasn't too bad, just kept wondering how many times my Grandma had to go to bathroom in 1 night. I was awake every time she went to the bathroom. By the 4th time she went to the bathroom, I was already very annoyed. On the 6th time, I got up from my bed and asked her how many time she had to go to the bathroom in one night. It wastes too much water flushing the toilet, you know @_@;; Especially when the city people already telling you to flush the toilet sparingly and not to water the lawn to conserve water...'cause water might be out soon as well due to no electricity to pump water.

I didn't get deep sleep until daybreak. I got up at about 10am and checked the radio again. By that time I was already muttering how much longer it would take them to restore the power. They said it would be restore around midnight and they lied � �. We were getting frustrated about the stupid backward electricity system. I worried about the pharmacy fridge a lot, since we've got vaccines and other refridgerated medicine there, and when the ice in the freezer compartment melted, it would soak the insulin boxes and flood the fridge @_@;; It happened before when there was too much ice and we couldn't close the fridge door properly. I know what it is like when the ice melt since I'm always the one who defrost the fridge. I wasn't that worry about myself without electricity. I was just worrying about the pharmacy fridge.

A good time to something you normally don't have the time to do. I went clean up my room. I could finally see the desktop of my desk. There are still a lot of stuff on the desk, but I can't do anything until I get new bookshelves and new cupboards for my room. I simply have no space to put them. To entertain myself, I was rotating between playing piano and listening to the radio. I couldn't play piano for very long at a time because my shoulder would be killing me and my body produce a lot of heat whenever I play piano. It is good when I'm freezing in winter. It would make my blood circulate and warm up my whole body. But It was a very hot that day to begin with. So I went from the Laputa pianobook to Utena pianobook. Couldn't play the fast and exciting songs 'cause they would make me sweat more e.e;; Slow and calm songs are good for relaxing the mind and soul. And then I went for my big hymn binder. By the time I got to half way of the binder, power came back! That was after 4pm, which made the total power outage time for my house a total 24 hours. Of course, the first thing I did was turn on the computer and get on the net to check e-mails and messages. Then paid bills, before power would go out again. They said it might go out again since Toronto doesn't have enough electricity to begin with. Stupd system e.e;; and we are just a little west of the nuclear power plant. They really need to get the nuclear power running again... I started reviewing as well. Need to catch up all the lost time. No time to waste before I go on mini vacation again.

So...that is the story. The store actually got power back much early then my home and the fridge was perfectly fine. No water dripping. The tray underneath the freezer compartment formed a sheet of ice from the melted ice when I went to work on Saturday. It was lucky that I thawed fridge just a few weeks ago and we didn't have that much ice to melt. It was busy at work on Saturday though, doing 3 days worth of work in 1 day and fixing the billing that wouldn't go through the previous day. Store was open on Friday but was forced to close down after a while, because mall shouldn't be opened (and use up the electricity) when it is in a "state of emergency". Malls aren't essential, but they forgot pharmacy is essential service.

I've finished watching Mamotte Shugogetten ^^. It is a very nice and romantic story with humour. Shaorin really looks like Rushita. She is a nice and cute and innocent form of Rushita. This set of DVD has better subtitles, but some of the episodes are bad. They still suffer typo, missing subtitles and subtitle appears in the wrong time. It looks like they have different people to translate different episodes, because the translation and spellings are not consistent amount episodes X.x;; I watch English subtitles instead of Chinese because I find it easier and faster to read. The Chinese subtitles might be better. In one phase, a Chinese slang showed up on the English subtitle ^^;; They must have forgotten to go back to change that into a proper English phase. Either that, or they couldn't find the proper English phase ^^;;

Ummm.....where is xq? I haven't seen him that much lately e.e;; *kicks his stupid work*

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - August 18, 2003 - 11:58 p.m. [ Comments ]


Update...

Long time no blog. o.o;; I've been busy with all these extra work shift and practising piano that I have hardly done anything else. These and the major frustration I got from xq not able to spend a vacation with me totally ruins any mood of blogging. Unless miracle happens, he won't be able to take time off. *curses his job* >_< I hate people ruining my plan, especially one that has planned for so long. I need to be sure everything is settled a month ahead. You are reading the right blog, Rushita's blog, not Diana's, although she just wrote the exact same thing in hers X.x;; Yes, the number 1 thing I hate the most is somebody ruining my plan! You can read my Stat page. It said so even years ago. I seriously think he should just quit his job and come over here for one and for a provincial government that makes much more sense. Fine, if he doesn't spent time with me, I'll still have fun myself! I'm not going to stop going to the "CNAnime" just because he won't be there x.x I'm still hoping for miracle though. Miracle can happen and does happen these days....

A happy note is, the mini bonsai kit I bought last month is working ^^. A few mini pine seedling is coming out from the mini soil. Hey, at least the seed/plant is alive. God knows how long the seed, the mini soil and the mini pot have been in the box or where they have travelled. It was no simple way to germinate the seeds. I followed the instruction in the box to soak them in water for 24 hours and then wrap them in a moist paper towel and refridgerated them for 7 days. For some reason the book says you have to put the pot next to the North or West window in the house for the seeds to germinate. I don't know how the seeds in the soil would know which way the window is facing or whether there is sunlight or from what direction. It is all just the same under the soil which is pitch dark anyway o.o;;

Due to the strange time I have left at home and no mood to spend a lot of time online, I finally watched the 2 Doraemon movies I bought from Hong Kong 2 years ago. I'm really glad it is still the same Chinese voice actor who did the voice of Doraemon 20 years ago also did Doraemon in these new movies. I can accept the voice change on other characters and even the name change in the characters (Japan vs Hong Kong vs Taiwan), but Doraemon won't be the same if they get another guy to do the voice. Come to think of it, that guy should be at least 50 years old now. He looked like he was in his 30's when we watched Doraemon in our childhood. One of the 2 movies was for 20th anniversary of Doraemon.

I also had a chance to watch "Denshi Mamotte Syugogetten". I think it is the OAV. I have no idea why xq didn't give me the TV series first. Maybe he didn't have that either. So I started watching when everybody in the story knows each other already. I've watched the first 2 TV episodes in Anime North years ago, so I kinda know about the story. The OAV is very sweet. I like how Sau and Tasuke interacts. Actually, I'm not sure if I got their name right, thanks to bad subtitles again. Just like all those bad subtitles I've complained about, it has sentence structure problem and typo. It doesn't even get the names right. I swear what I hear is not what I see on the subtitles and they probably get the names spelt wrong as well. Mmm...I'll have to see if I can get myself the proper TV series and proper OAV with good subtitles. @_@;; But the story is nice. Very romantic and innocent too ^^. Sau does look a bit like Rushita. Like a chibi cute form of Rushita. That probably why Diana used her face for my icon in LAR. I'm going to watch more tonight.

*sighs* I'm still struggling to get the site review done. I just haven't got time to sit still in front of the computer lately. I'll have to see how long the citizenship ceremony will take tomorrow. I got sent to take my grandma to the ceremony. Anything that has to do with translation, it will be me. Anything that has to do with health care and medical, it will be me too. I hate not able to finish things before taking vacation....

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - August 10, 2003 - 9:26 p.m. [ Comments ]


More Anti-Stealing Scripts

My Sailor Moon paper doll page is one of the oldest page in the domain, but it is actually the most popular page that a lot of people visit all the time e.e. I actually need to redo and re-scan the paper dolls when I have time. Those images are the first set of images I ever scanned as soon as I got my first scanner, and I can do it better now. It is also the page that I'm most stolen from. One of these days I need to run another internet search to catch stolen images again. Last time when I installed the anti-hotlink script, hotlinking images from my site is pretty much all eliminated. People now do something different. They run my paper doll page inside their frames @_@;; Sooooo...today, I took action to install yet another script to break my page out of the frames. Not only that, with a little alteration of the break-out-of-frame script, if my page is in somebody's frame, it will automatically break out of the frame and go to the whole browser window and it will be directed to Rushita.com front page. In another words, people will leave the original site and go to my site and they won't see the paper doll page. Pretty handy little javascript. You can ask me if you want to know how to do it.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - August 02, 2003 - 12:40 a.m. [ Comments ]


The Egg!!

Limited Edition Egg (1)
Adopted from Junk Food
What's inside?


Wait for the egg to hatch ^^

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - July 28, 2003 - 6:55 p.m. [ Comments ]


Review and stuff

I just run into something new ^^. Even though I've been browsing, reviewing and making webpages for years, I still learn something new each day. This is how I learn website stuff, since I don't read a book or take a course or learn it in any systematic ways. Here is a way to make the background of the iframe semi-transparent or transparent (i.e., background showing up on the iframe as background). This should take care of the problem people need to fix the background.:
http://seqrred.net/iframe.php

Since I don't use iframe, I'm not going to try it. However, I'm interested to know if it will actually works, and if I will work on Netscape 7, knowing iframe fix background code never works on NS7 in the first place. So if someone decides to try it, please kindly let me know, so I can go test it on my 3 browsers.

I came across this site from reviewing another site. I'm reviewing a site (yes, I AM reviewing o.o) that is done very well. It took me half a day just to browse through the whole site. It is so so big @_@;; And the fact that it is done so well and it is a personal site, I really don't know what comments and suggestions I can give e.e. I think I need help giving second opinion, but I'm not getting second opinion since Karmastaya-chan is not reviewing it....well....due to the same reason e.e;; This is going to be a while before I can write up something. I need to think and go through the site at least one more time.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - July 21, 2003 - 10:15 p.m. [ Comments ]


Day off is good

I've been working extra this week and didn't get to sleep in and catch up sleep like I used to. Sleep in is very good e.e;; The next few weeks I need to work an extra shift (i.e. an extra day) too.

I've received another commission art yesterday. This is the one that I paid at Anime North for an artist to draw. It is a pretty kimono style Rushita ^^:
Rushita piccy

I still have to put it up to the photo album page later. If anybody is interested to draw Rushita a picture for free, I would be very happy ^^. If you are very good in drawing and want to do a commission art for Rushita, we can talk too. *Gently reminds Diana about the Rushita piccy ^_~*

The PM3 game is going nicely. I already know how to turn my girl into a princess, so I'm trying other endings. My virgo blood type A girl had an attitude problem to start off with. It took me 3 years to train her back to happy and nice. ^^;; That's why I like to use my own birthday and blood type for my girl. 'Cause I know she will start off with happy and obedient. Next time I'll try scorpio and blood type B too see what kind of girl I'll get.... It is a very addicting game. ^^

I found something very cute at the bookstore ^^. They are the mini kits in small boxes (3in x 3in) that comes with different things. They have mini spa kit, mini bansai kit, mini calligraphy kit, mini grass growing (zen stuff) kit, kit for chinese take out, sushi kit, tea lover's kit, etc, etc. I bought the calligraphy kits that comes with a mini book, some writing papers, a mini pen with pen tips and a mini bottle of ink ^^. I've never used that kind of old ink pen that you need to dip for ink every sentence you write. I have an ink fountain pen, but this kind of ink pen is beyond my generation. My dad said he used to use it to write exams when he was in highschool ^^. I've also bought the mini bonsai kit. It comes with a pot, jack pine seeds, a peat pellet and small scissors, and a mini book. I wonder if we can actually get any bonsai out of this mini kits.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - July 18, 2003 - 2:17 p.m. [ Comments ]


previous - next

My Heart

Newest Entry
Archive

My Stats
Contact me
Sign Guestbook

Talk Box

Back

My Friends

BunniFuFu
Between Stars And Shadow
.::Virtual:Reality::.
Koganei Kaoru
Mimichan's Journal

Rushita's Diary � 2005 Rushita.com. Service is kindly provided by Diaryland.