~ Diary ~ >> Rushita.com

Essay on Bishoujo Senshi Sailormoon Sailor Stars

This is the re-write of an essay (a forum post) that I posted on Moonwings a couple of years ago for the discussion of Starlights' gender (which was actually a re-post from a similar discussion in SMU). Ever since I made that post, there are quite a few people mentioned they liked that essay or that wanted that essay. Unfortunately, I never saved the post. I finally re-wrote it for Draconis for her Crystal Tears RPG for reference. I'm now posting it on this blog for those who are interested in my unique point of view on this gender issue. I've also sent a copy of this essay to Starlight Pops, my favourite Starlights site.

Starlights' True Gender

One of the most common question on Bishoujo Senshi Sailormoon Sailor Stars is whether Starlights are male or female. A lot of people believe that Starlights are male and they turn into female when they transform. To answer this question, we can look into their gender in 2 different levels of depth.

For a quick and simple answer, we can refer to what the characters said and did in the series. Starlights appeared in male form on earth and became the idol singer group Three Lights. When they transformed into Sailor Starfighter, Sailor Starmaker, and Sailor Starhealer, they were in female form. In contrary to popular believes, they are not male who turn into female when they transform. The transformed form is their real form. In another words, they were originally female (in earth human standard) who came to Earth and took the male form as the Three Lights for cover in order to find their princess, Princess Kakyuu. In the series, they were asked about their purpose of being Three Lights. They said it gave them a big opportunity to search for their princess by singing and that their songs have messages hoping to reach out to their princess. When Princess Kakyuu finally appeared, she talked to the Starlights in private:

Princess: Fighter, you're using this appearance on earth?
Seiya: In order to find a woman on earth, this was the best appearance.
Princess: I'm sorry. I always heard your songs. But I couldn't be spotted by Galaxia.

It is quite obvious that "this appearance" (aka the male form) isn't their usual form. It is definitely not how the Starlights usually look like when they were in Kinmoku-sei (Planet Kinmoku), otherwise Princess Kakyuu won't make such remark. At the end of the series after Starlights and Princess Kakyuu had their farewell with the senshi, Seiya, Taiki, and Yaten changed from their male form to their female senshi form to return to their planet with Princess Kakyuu. This tells us that their female senshi form is their usual true form and they returned to that form to go home. Therefore, Starlights are originally "female" (in earth human standard) who turned into "male" (again, in earth human standard) just to find their princess.

Now, we look at Starlights' gender in a deeper level. Are they female or male? or are they not female nor male? Let's not forget the fact that they are not even human to begin with! To be exact, they are humanoid, but not earthly human. To decided whether they are female or male, one needs to look at the definition of female and male. They are humanoid from kinmoku-sei, which could have totally different physiological features from earthly human. The rule of human gender simply doesn't apply to non-human creatures! Very little is known about kinmoku-sei and kinmoku-sei people. We don't even know how many different genders there are for kinmoku-sei. Instead of calling the genders "male" and "female", it would be better to call them "positive" and "negative" for non-human creatures. There is no rule saying there can only be 2 genders for kinmoku-sei people. There could even be 3 different genders ("A", "B", "C") with their coresponding definitions of each gender. We don't know what the differences would be between each gender, but we cannot just base them on the differences between male and female for human. To avoid things getting more complicated than it already is, let's just assume there are only 2 genders for kinmoku-sei people, "positive" and "negative". From all the kinmoku-sei people we saw in the series, we only know that the Starlights in their senshi form and Princess Kakyuu has physical features resemble to human female, while the Three Lights form resemble human male. We do not know what makes the difference between "positive" gender and "negative" gender for kinmoku-sei people. The differences could be in something that we cannot easily see from the outside. It is true that when Starlights are in their senshi form, they have breasts. But that doesn't mean they are "positive" or "negative" gender just because they have breasts. Having breasts (and other female features) tells us quite easily that this earthly person is a female according to human standard and conceptions, but breasts (or the lack of them) might not be the sign to differentiate "positive" from "negative" gender for kinmoku-sei people. Maybe all kinmoku-sei people have breasts (or whatever they are that physically resemble human breasts), and maybe the way to tell whether a kinmoku-sei person is "positive" or "negative" is by some other "sexual" features that we cannot easily tell from the series. We cannot rule out the posibility that the sexual reproductive organs for "positive" and "negative" gender of kinmoku-sei people are hidden so well that we just can't tell from the outside in the series.

When we look at the relationship between Princess Kakyuu and the Starlights, especially between Princess Kakyuu and Seiya, we can see something interesting. Although this is just speculation and possiblity and not a fact, Starlights seem to have a lot of admiration to Princess Kakyuu, the kind that almost resemble romatic relationship. When Seiya fell in love with Usagi, Taiki and Yaten thought he shouldn't do that to the effect that Seiya should give all his love to Princess Kakyuu instead. It almost seems like there maybe a conflict of love. When Princess Kakyuu appeared and interacted privately with Seiya, we can tell that Princess Kakyuu liked Seiya too (whether degree of liking that was). It seems like Princess Kakyuu and Seiya were really close and there was a speical relationship between the two. Just from the very little we know about those 4 kinmoku-sei people, it almost seems like the Starlights and Princess Kakyuu have different genders, even though both Starlights and Princess Kakyuu have breasts and resemble human female in their true form. This opens up the possibility that Starlights and Princess Kakyuu could be of different genders according to kinmoku-sei, while both genders have outer physical features (e.g., breasts or whatever resemble human breasts, and no visible feature that resemble human male sexual organ) that resemble human female physical features. And for the Three Lights form, that was just the form they transformed into to deliberately mimic human males.

So, what is Starlights' true gender? The answer is, we don't know. But for sure we know they are not female or male because the definitions of "female" and "male" are for human and they aren't human to being with. We can only say the senshi form for Starlights is their true form and their true form resembles human female. The Three Lights form is their false human male form that they temporarily transformed into for the purpose of looking for Princess Kakyuu, and just so otaku have bishounen to daydream about :D

~ end ~

Comments on this essay are welcomed. If you don't like my talkbox, please send your comments to me by this form.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - July 13, 2004 - 11:15 p.m. [ Comments ]


For those who cares

For our friends and those noisy people, this is an official announcement that Rushita and xqmrp are no longer together in a romantic relationship. After a serious talk, it comes to a decision that it would be best for us to end our relationship. The reason simply being we walk significantly different paths in our lives and things just didn't work out. Please respect our privacy and do not ask. That's all you need to know. We are still friends and Plaid Wolf is still a very strange and lovable wolfie.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - July 11, 2004 - 11:10 p.m. [ Comments ]


Random Update

This might disappoint Diana since I just help her webmaster ego. Well, I did find something interesting in Gaia Online. ^^ That place is huge with tons of people and kinda boring when you don't RP. However, I found 2 special things there that I can't find on any other usual North American forum that I've been to. They are: Canadian and Chinese. For once I don't feel like I'm the minority when we mention something about Canada and I'm not alone to defense for Canada. They have tons of Canadian. What's better, I found Canadian Chinese too. I've been using internet for 7 years and the past 24 hours, I have chatted in Chinese for the first time. You do not know what it feels like when you've found somebody who has almost the same background with you, speak the same language, write/type the same words. That is the reason why I also stay in Cherrytea forum. That is my dose of Chinese culture with people who can understand you a little more. The Chinese teenagers at Gaia Online have even better Chinese skills and Chinese typing skill. For once I'm actually using my mad phat Chinese typing skill (thanks to the project Chinese site I've been working on) and I wish I can type faster. (Yes, I have mad phat chinese typing skill on top of my mad phat English typing skill XD) We are just chatting on the forum and the threads get really long. I think that's the way to do in Gaia Online and bookmarking the thread where you are chatting on is how you should do. ^^ So yeah, I would be staying there. Having some exchange in your own culture is good.... Although we are a mix of people from Taiwan, China and Hong Kong, we aren't that much different. My Chinese typing is based on mandarin anyway, so all is well ^^

Oh, and I love not having to work on Sunday. Work in the church library is very productive. I serialized 2/3 of a box of books today, and that is the 2nd box. One more box to go and we are done with the piled up from years..... I have no answer to those who ask me why I'm the only person who works in the library. I wish I know why. But, things are under control..... under my control is good. *laughs*

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - July 04, 2004 - 10:14 p.m. [ Comments ]


Survey

Stolen from Goddess:

About Me

What's your sign? Capricorn
Did you like, love, or hate high school? Secondary school (that's how we call "highschool" in Hong Kong): I don't like it, but I tolerated. High school in Canada: Fairly good. Getting A's in school make a whole lot different in your school life, because homework and studying takes so much less time and you actually can have a life.
What's your worst habit? Nothing really. If I truely convince it is bad, I wouldn't be doing it e.e

Close Calls

Have you ever gotten a speeding ticket? No, I don't go that crazy and stupid. It is foolish to do speeding when nobody else drives the same speed as you.

Cooking, Food, & Drinks

If you could eat one thing for the rest of your life, it would be: Some kind of pasta with meat, vegetables, and all balanced nutrition in one plate. Eating only one thing for the rest of your life is unhealth, man...
What's your favorite drink? Apple juice, watermelon juice, lichee green tea, lemonade.

Entertainment

Which celebrity would you most like to meet? Watase Yuu, the mangakan for Fushigi Yuugi, would be nice.
Your favorite movies are: Laputa, Utena, Ye Ban Ge Sheng (a chinese movie), and Hero (another chinese movie). Not a big fan for "western" (aka non-asian) movies.

Family
You are the oldest, middle, youngest, or only child? Youngest, but grew up and act like the only child.
Your favorite childhood game was: Mahjog (various spellings). It is an adult game, not kids game, but I played it the most when I was a kid. It is a fun "card game".

Favorites
Your favorite season is:Summer
Your favorite flower is: Roses, and waterlilies.
Your favorite color is: Depends on what the color is on, generally white, silver, blue, pink, purple...almost all pastel colours.
Who's your favorite actor? Don't have one.
Who's your favorite actress? Don't have one either. I can tell you who is my favourite seiyuu....e.e
What's your favorite sports team? I hate sports >.>
Your favorite ice cream flavor is: Vanilla, vanilla with chocolate chips, strawberry, mango, lemon sherbet.

Health, Mind & Body

Would you rather take a bath or a shower? Shower, I haven't got time to clean and sterilize the bathtub every time I need to take a bath...besides taking bath wastes a lot of water.
What size shoe do you wear? 8
How many tattoos do you have? Zero, thankyouverymuch.
Can you touch your nose with your tongue? No, but I can touch it with my lip o.o
Do you sometimes pee with the door open? Yes, sometimes when nobody is in the house or nobody is awake.
Would you rather be too hot or too cold? Too hot. The answer to this question obviously depends on where you are currently living XD.
Are you right or left handed? Right.

Home

What city were you born in? Hong Kong. And that's all you were going to ask about "home"?? e.e Kids are more concern about celebrities and movies than their home these days.....

Hopes & Dreams

Which "bizarre" job would you like to try for a day? "Bizarre" is not in Rushita's dictionary.

Music

Who's your favorite band of the moment? None. What? We are back to entertainment again?? Told you these kids....
Would you rather sing in the shower or car Shower, and yes, the acoustics is much better.

Politics

Are you registered to vote? Yes, and I'm going to vote today and see who will be our new Prime Minister. And that's all the question about politics?

Romance

Do you prefer blondes, brunettes, or redheads? Hair colour only matters when it is tied with race.... and that would be dark-brown.
How many dates have you gone on this year? None and that should tell you something >.>

Travel

How many foreign languages do you speak? That depends on what you call "foreign". My "foreign" language, 1. Your "foreign" languages, 2. I speak English, Cantonese and Mandarin fluently. I only consider English is the foreign language.
Would you rather be the driver or the passenger? Depends on how reliable the other drive is. If the other driver is reliable and safe, I rather be the passenger. I don't really like driving but I've learnt that it is better for me to drive because I'm a better driver than most people.
When flying, do you prefer the window or aisle seat? Window, so I can lean my head on the window and sleep. I also don't need to get up or go to washroom and I rather not to be bugged when the other person deems to need the washroom. Short fleights of 6 hours or less I wouldn't mind much, but I definitely need the window/side so I can sleep for long fleights.

Work

Which chore do you secretly like? None. I hate chores...... and since when chores are considered work?
You secretly want to be what when you grow up? Already grown up. I really want to be not having to work at all if there is somebody else (like husband) that makes loads of money to support the family.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - June 28, 2004 - 12:17 p.m. [ Comments ]


The End of a Project

Long time no blog....long time no sleep-in (or sleep enough) as well XD Our toy show finally ended today. We have very good response today with quite a bit of people buying tickets to the show and quite a bit of people taking pictures with our cosplayers. Our charity sale for today was good too. Funny thing is, we sold one tub of chupachup (spp??), one chupachup at a time, for total over $109. I don't know how many there is and how much it cost, but apparently our profits from it is much higher than anything else we sold. People somehow like to donate more money to buy a chupachups.

Once again I really appreciate cosplayers' help very much, including those who wasn't actually scheduled for the shift. I know they got tired especially from holding the dragon. Even I got tired looking for people to take pictures with them. The lack of sleep and stress has gotten to me.

It was more nerve-recking than you would imagine for recruiting cosplayers. After we finished our cosplayers photo session today, I was much relieved. It was quite high stress for me since the beginning of the month to recruit cosplayers, send e-mail back and forth (constantly waiting for e-mail reply is not funny), pull a schedule together, pick the most suitable costumes, hope for the best that no accident happens...like people don't show up...., do research on the cosplaying characters and the anime, do google search a million times to find the right photos and info in other to put together an info display for the public to introduce them to the cosplaying characters and the anime that we are going to have, and hoping to get final confirmation from the cosplayers so we can do some promotion about which character is coming for the photos. This is more stress and work than you would imagine. I'm very relief that everything went fine and I've sucessfully accomplished my mission. It is hard to make sure you would accomplish your mission if the biggest factor depends on other people. Is is my typical capricorn personality with a wee bee of virgo trait that is acting up to make sure everything is under my control x.x That's why sometimes I could be quite demanding to other people and not as friendly as I'd like to be. Now the case is closed and I can relax XD.

So my past week make up of only 2 things.....work and the toy show. And for the toy show, it was between working on cosplay, updating the project website, and doing my shifts at the toy show. Now I'm going to bed and sleep in. I want a 12-hour sleep to make up all those I've lost the past week....well, at least 10, since my sleep cycle is about 5 hours each.... Nobody dares to wake me up before noon. >.> Then I'll wake up and do the last web update for the toy show. I'm expecting to see an English update by the time I wake up.....so I'll have to translate that into Chinese, type it up, and script the page. Thank goodness Canada Day is just around the corner and it is on a Thursday. That means I have an extra dayoff. I'm really looking forward to relax on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, doing something different, or not doing anything at all. e.e

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - June 27, 2004 - 11:23 p.m. [ Comments ]


previous - next

My Heart

Newest Entry
Archive

My Stats
Contact me
Sign Guestbook

Talk Box

Back

My Friends

BunniFuFu
Between Stars And Shadow
.::Virtual:Reality::.
Koganei Kaoru
Mimichan's Journal

Rushita's Diary � 2005 Rushita.com. Service is kindly provided by Diaryland.