~ Diary ~ >> Rushita.com

Random Update

I haven't blogged here for a while. My life is doing fine. Happy and dandy, but nothing major to write here. I've got some silly minor blogs at Livejournal though.

Today (Friday), tomorrow and Sunday is our annual Shoppers Drug Mart Pharmacy Conference. As usual, it is held at the same place as Anime North. The main difference is, pharmacists are treated much better and fed much better than otaku. Conference might be quite boring sometimes, but it is educational and still better than having to work at the store ^^;; The only thing I don't like is having to wake up so early in the morning and drive across the city.

Time flies. I didn't even notice it has been 2 years and my domain hosting plan was up for renewal. It automatically got renewed. Well, I have no reason for not keeping my site, so everything goes on. That means, I have to look into switching domain company next year when the domain is up for renewal. Network Solution is too expensive.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - October 15, 2004 - 11:55 p.m. [ Comments ]


Bee season again

I swear this is the bee/wasp season. I know that when more than 1 people ask me for recommendations for bee/wasp stings two days in a row. It is no coincident. And if you actually read this diary on a regular basis, you can check out this entry I made about bee/wasp season last year:
Bee stings in a mall, what else can you get?
I wrote that entry exactly 1 year ago and this is no coincident. I'm sure that I can conclude this time of the year those bees and wasps get ferocious and sting people for no good reason @_@;; Actually, after I made that entry last year, there were a few more bee stings in the mall incidents during the week....which makes you wonder.

So... let me tell you again. Avoid flowery dress and perfumes. If you get sting by a bee/wasp, just use ice right away. If it is a bee, get the sting out first though using a tweezer or the edge of a credit card. Cold compress (ice) treatment is all you need, unless you have life-threatening allergy to bee/wasp sting.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - September 27, 2004 - 12:05 a.m. [ Comments ]


Back to Work

I got back to work today. Everything was fine. It was more organized than I expected. I even had an assistant right before 9:30am instead of the usual 10:00am. I think they forgot the assistant only came in for 9:30am to open up when it was the boss working. I don't have the benefit of full assistant coverage for Saturdays. It was fairly interesting and surprising that I had only been away for 2 weeks and when I came back, our one and only male cosmatician in history left and went back to Hong Kong for good, and 2 other staff got fired. Come to think of it, somebody always get fired when I'm on my vacation...e.e

Btw, the most productive thing I've done this week was putting up a second page of the pixel background. You can view it by clicking on "background" on the menu on the left and go to page 2. I almost forgot this diary belongs to the same section and actually has the same navigation menu.

I still have my dizzy spell, feeling very oozy this morning washing my face with my head down @_@;; But as soon as I got to work, I was fine. I think I'm usually ok if I'm "adrenaline high" with something exciting to do.

Btw, the reason I quote more bible verses more readily on my livejournal lately is because I read the bible a lot more than the past 7 years added together. The right verses and where they located in the bible come to my mind much faster than before. Afterall, those I quoted the past week are the ones that I've just read in the past month or two. That also tells you where I'm at in my bible reading/daily devotion passage. Right now I'm somewhere in Acts. It is intersting to see how those stupid people hated Paul wherever he went. This is obviously not the first time I read the same bible passages, but I still learn something new. That's the secret of the Bible (with the Holy Spirit inside you).

I'd like to mention again that this diary is not named "Heaven In Heart". "Heaven In Heart" is the name for the whole section with my arts and stuff, all my web creations. This diary actually has no name. It is just called "diary". The Livejournal blog is called "Silent Angel". Looking at how they have evolved, "Silent Angel" has became my emotional blog and my Chinese blog, and this "diary" is the logical, happy and formal blog. "Silent Angel" is the "dark blog" and this "diary" is the "light blog", because this is the "Heaven" and that one is the temporary emotional trip.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - September 18, 2004 - 9:26 p.m. [ Comments ]


Responses

This is simply my thoughts and feelings to others' livejournals. I just read xq's blog and it worries me. I don't know who that person is, but it is very likely that I know that person o.o (and just so you know that is not me....in case someone is wondering). I feel sorry for whatever that happened to her (and it sounded pretty serious).

And I saw this from Ocha's blog:
http://www.komotv.com/stories/32937.htm
What I don't understand is, the article (and the people made comments in the article) made it sound like eliminating floating cheques is a bad thing. (Note: I'm Canadian and I refuse to use "checks" in place of "cheques". "Check" means something else.) Why do people think eliminating floating cheques is a bad thing? You know, "floating cheques" is a new term I just learn. People shouldn't have written cheques in the first place when they don't have that money in the bank. That is also why I don't understand the bank account comes with "overdraft protection" or "bounce cheques protection", whatever you call that, as a selling feature. Cheques should not bounce in the first place. It is WRONG to write a cheque when you don't have that money in the bank at that time. If people don't realize, cheque is a promise. It is a promise that you are giving the person receiving the cheque that amount of money. The person receiving the cheque exercises faith in you and your promise that that little piece of paper will bring them money. Writing cheques when you don't have money in your bank account is like making empty promises. Not to mention, when your cheques bounce, you are causing inconvinence to the persons receiving the cheques. Sometimes the inconvinence can be so great when they are relying on your promises to pay for their bills in time. And yes, I've got quite a few pay cheques bounced before at my previous job. While I understood my employer was really struggling with the business problem, but their credits (both financial and inter-personal) really went down the drain with bounced cheques and stuff like that. Thankfully I didn't need my pay cheques to pay for my bills and I could pretty well survive without pay cheques for a while.

The main thing that I don't understand is why people need to spend money when they have no money. I think this is the root problem of this floating cheques issue. Something is terribly wrong with their financial budgeting and incomes and expenses obviously don't balance. You don't have to know accounting to understand something needs to be done about it. As my usual rant, people in North America these days have no concept of saving......and do not understand the difference between "I want" and "I need".

That's it for the rant.

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - September 08, 2004 - 11:28 a.m. [ Comments ]


Random Update

Rushita has been quite productive. Well, if you haven't seen it, time to check out the actual site. I just made a brand new layout for the site! e.e It's about time. I still love "Flame of Love" from Fushigi Yuugi, but it needs a new layout...... and I needed a decent size project to keep my mind occupied so I wouldn't think too much, that is, not more than what I have already been thinking X.x;; Anyway, this layout is from Kanon. I know nothing about Kanon. I think it is a video game. I don't care too much as long as the pictures are in pretty good quality. The girls look pretty cute, and of course, I picked the blue hair girl that resembles Rushita. I have that thing about blue hair girls XD Unlike most layout I made, I don't have much passion with this one. It was more like a work needed to be done with whatever images I could find that suited for making layout and wallpaper. I did plant a little personal emotion on it. And yeah, I made the matching desktop wallpaper too. Actually, I did the wallpaper first. That always happen because wallpaper is the ideal way of how the layout should look like. However, due to various restriction for a webpage, including screen resolution and flexible screen size (I always make my design flexible to different screen size), the final layout design is usually slightly modified. Speaking of flexible browser screen size, this time it is not as flexible as before. It only works somewhere between 800x600 to 1024x768 due to having a non-repeatable background image. If anyone has monitor resolution higher than 1024x768, it is insane for them to make the browser window size larger than 1024x768 anyway >.> I'll upload the wallpaper later. I still need to make a matching xmb theme and probably a matching layout for my livejournal. That will be the job for Friday, right now I need sleep! XD

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - September 02, 2004 - 1:35 a.m. [ Comments ]


Happy Birthday, Diana!

That was why I had been feeling funny all day today when signing prescriptions and writing today's date. I knew there was something to do with the date.....XD I didn't really forget about it because I had remembered it all along and originally aimed to take vacation starting this week (became a pattern since last year). I just didn't realize time went so fast this week. Personal issues this week completely screwed me up. I didn't get a birthday package for Diana....*shudders* I always send people gift whenever they need something regardless of occasions anyway, so I guess I will just send her a package when I get one little problem fixed (that I was trying to get it fixed for months....). Anyhow...

Oh, things are going nice. I declare I'm taking 2 weeks vacation from Sept 3, and I'm going for a short trip in Quebec. I probably will just stay home for the rest of the vacation to relax. It is very relieving to get everything out and done with regarding the issues between me and xq. As much as I hate to make private issues public, it is actually better this way so things won't come back to me again. And to quote someone, things really can't get any worse. I still can't believe why things can't be done in a civilized and mature manner. It is very shameful to see a 45 year old having an ugly fight with a 31 year old in the public @_@;; Anyhow, once everything is said and done with, it is actually less stressful.

And because of the sudden stress and lack of sleep again. Guess what? I got cold sores again. >.> This time I go for serious drug treatment as soon as I saw it. Having 2 cold sores in 3 weeks meaning something serious need to be done. Valtrex 2g q12h for 24 hours really worked very well. I just did the 2 doses and they died right away even though I was a little late when I first saw them. Must get prescription renewed for some more pills for next time now that I know it works so well. Much better than my ice method although ice works fairly well.

Oh, btw, I've got new glasses. I really like it. The lenses are narrower and not as round, which is the current trend. I'm going to see if the other pair is also ready to be picked up tomorrow and have some adjustment to this pair because my right ear hurts from wearing the glasses e.e;; I ordered 2 pairs in case I sit on my glasses again x.x

That's all for tonight!

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - August 26, 2004 - 10:53 p.m. [ Comments ]


Random Summary

A lot has happened the past few days and I have been too busy to blog. I have forgotten a lot of stuff that I wanted to blog as well. In short, it has been a happy week, especially when I didn't have to work the weekend. It is definitely more fun and meaningful to spend time with people you care than spending time at work. XD

Saturday, I was very productive serializing the books in church library. I've always found it most productive when I work in the library. Even though I don't like reading books, I never find it bored working in the library for repetitive things for hours. It fulfills my sense of organizing things, putting chaos into order, turning non-sequence into sequence, and seeing boxes of books disappear from the floor and the cupboard (and go onto the shelves). It feels great being productive. Church choir did well. I really enjoy hearing them sing, even though it was only practising. It added happiness to my repetitive library work. On my last huge library serialization day on last Christmas eve, I got a stereo and played songs while I worked for hours. It was quite fun.

Sunday was my friend's wedding day. I was very annoyed to find out my right arm was bruised. I knew I hit my arm on something, either on Friday or Saturday, but I didn't expect it to bruise. So I went to my work even before the store was open and ask the cosmetician to cover it up with special makeup/coverup thing. It didn't fully cover it up, but it looked much better afterwards. During decoration for the church before the wedding ceremony, I accidently banged my other arm on the stair railing post. Well, it left a bruise too @_@;;. I get bruises so easily and just when I need to wear sleeveless dress, I got them on my arms. Murphy's Law, I say. That reminded me it did happened on my brother's wedding when I needed to wear the same dress. I didn't even think such thing will happen at that time. Now that I look back, I thank God it didn't happen for my brother's wedding, or I'll be really really upset. I aimed for perfectness last time since I was in the wedding. This week while I was pondering about my look and what to wear for my friend's wedding, I kept reminding myself I didn't need to look perfect (my expectation my "perfectness"). The bride has to look perfect but I don't. Nobody would care how I look anyway. That eased up a bit of things. The speech from the pastor to the bride during the ceremony yesterday reminded me a bit about easing up on "perfectness" as well. Probably not as much as the bride, but I sometime is a perfectionist in relative sense, and I do have a little bit of virgo trait inside me.

It was a rather untraditional wedding with happy and interesting elements. It is in fact much more fun to go to the both the church cermony and the banquet if you have a partner to go with you. This is my major realization yesterday. The second realization is, I really need to get my eyebows trimmed. I have been thinking of that a lot for a long while but never put into action. Upon opinions from the girls yesterday, the only thing I'm missing is eyebows trimming (meaning I look good enough otherwise). One of these days I'll go get it done XD. The third realization is, wine still tastes very bitter and I still don't like it. The smell and taste of alcohol has always been tied to medical or chemical use all my life. However, I also realize that I did not have any effect of alcohol at all even after I've drunk the whole glass of white wine. It was quite surprising because I was expecting to get a hot and red face and ears and feeling sleepy like how I normally would upon ingestion of small amount of alcohol. That was a rare case that I actually drank alcohol because it was a rare case that I didn't have to drive. XD I was a bit more talkative last night, but it had nothing to do with the wine. It was because I was sitting next to and talking to a girl friend that I've always feel comfortable to talk to, and the overall atmosphere of the banquet (and the dim light), and also because I have already been "drunk" by "something" lately ^^;;

~*~

- You've just read Rushita's heart - August 23, 2004 - 2:09 p.m. [ Comments ]


previous - next

My Heart

Newest Entry
Archive

My Stats
Contact me
Sign Guestbook

Talk Box

Back

My Friends

BunniFuFu
Between Stars And Shadow
.::Virtual:Reality::.
Koganei Kaoru
Mimichan's Journal

Rushita's Diary � 2005 Rushita.com. Service is kindly provided by Diaryland.